North American fans won’t have to wait long to get their grubby hands on Ensiferum‘s fifth studio offering Unsung Heroes! The album hits record store shelves late this summer, though a release date hasn’t been pinned down quite yet. Produced by Hiili Hiilesmaa (HIM, Sentenced, Apocalyptica), the album features artwork by Kristian W√•hlin and a medley of special guests including members of Die Apokalyptischen Reiter plus legendary Finnish singer/actor, Vesa-Matti Loiri.

1. Symbols
2. In My Sword I Trust
3. Unsung Heroes
4. Burning Leaves
5. Celestial Bond
6. Retribution Shall Be Mine
7. Star Queen (Celestial Bond Part II)
8. Pohjola
9. Last Breath
10. Passion Proof Power

Ensiferum bassist Sammi Hinka made the following comments about Unsung Heroes:

“On this album we pushed the boundaries of the key elements that make ENSIFERUM’s music what it is and really took our music to another level. Crushing metal combined with majestic and beautiful folk and orchestration parts make this album something really unique in the whole genre!”

From Afar, Ensiferum’s most recent release, received mixed reviews from fans and critics alike, so hopefully Unsung Heroes will be a bit more of a crowd-pleaser.

Speaking of pleasing crowds, a North American headlining tour is apparently in the works. No official statement has been made regarding any dates or locations, but there should be more specifics to come in the next few weeks. Keep your eyes open!

And, just because I really enjoy Ensiferum and think you all should too, here’s my favorite song from their most recent release. Enjoy, and of course, feel free to discuss your favorite Enska songs below!